Happy Halloween, everyone!  What a great couple of days we've had!  Halloween in Australia has REALLY taken off this year.  It is only the second year that orange, carving pumpkins are available in Griffith.  The lady at the party supply store told me Halloween has increased 40% in Australia this year.  My teacher friends think that Halloween has gone CRAZY.  My response...."Seriously?  What part is crazy?"  (There are only 2 little stands in the middle of the aisle at the Big W(like Walmart).)  Anyway....it's been a blast!

As you know, Kent has been growing his hair since January.  It's really cute but is also getting hot and is in the way during cricket.  We decided he would keep it long until school pictures were done and his friend's Halloween party was over....Kent went as a cute little girl named Kendra!  I had to cut his fringe (bangs) and his hair looked great!
Purple shirt, black skirt and jumper, purple nails and hair accessories and pink earrings.  So sweet!
Kendra had a great time at the party and even won the dance competition!  (Dean and Jesse were away and I think Kent was very brave to go to the party "by himself" dressed like that!)
Picture
Kent before (but I'd already cut 1.5" off the bangs)
Picture
Kent before
Picture
Kent after!
Picture
Kent after
We snuck away from school in a hurry on October 30, and got the long locks cut off.  It was 32C and we had just spent 4+ hours outside for sport so I don't think Kent was too sad to see the hair lying on the floor!  Now...how long before Dean has short hair?!
Picture
Carving pumpkins outside!
Picture
Khye
Picture
Colt
Picture
Kent
I was very excited to be able to carve pumpkins outside this year.  The entire week has been mid 20s to mid 30s!  Cody was too 'big' to carve pumpkins this year but the three littles did a great job!  We lit them with glowsticks.  Do you think Kent has a crush on his mates?! 
Rather than go Trick or Treating around town, we had a family Halloween party at home.  We wore Halloween shirts, ate fingers, mummies, barf sauce and blood for supper, and then the boys went out trick or treating with Dad.  While they were gone, I had 28 kids come Trick or Treating to the house!  They were a very scary bunch!
Picture
PSY singing Gangnam Style!
Picture
A joker, a French guy with a glass eye, a rapper, Michael Jackson's hand and ???
Picture
An Australian cowboy, a lady and ???? (The teddy is Khye's homework for the night.)
Picture
Two bad guys and....I have no idea!!
Picture
A stripper, a French painter, a rodeo clown and ????
Picture
A unicorn, a witch, a lady, a flower girl and a contestant from The Biggest Loser!
Just when my bowl of treats ran out and I turned out my lights, my family returned from Trick or Treating!  They had a super night and had full bags to dump on the floor and sort through.  They were most excited about Canadian carmels, Coffee Crisps and suckers with big lips! 
Picture
After we looked through the boys' candy to check for poison and razor blades, the boys got to stay up late and watch a movie.  (Yes Grandmas....I know that says Rated M and I know that they're 5 and 7!)

It's now 9:30pm.  They are tired, full of sugar, no one has done homework (except Khye who LOVES writing about the pink bear!) and they are all happy.  Tomorrow morning WILL be a different story!  Wish me luck!

Happy Australian Halloween!

****Update****  After a couple of phone calls home, it is apparent that I need to clarify a few things!  The only real trick or treaters at Boongarra Farm were our own boys!  We took the costume boxes outside and they just kept changing and would return to my door for more treats!  Oops...guess my weird sense of humour was getting in the way again!  :)
Grandma
10/31/2012 11:51:25 am

Love your Hallowe'en blog.

I was always wanted a granddaughter named Kendra, and for a fleeting moment I had one. You make a very cute girl Kent, but an even more handsome grandson! Love your hair cut!! What does Dean think of it?

Looks like you all had fun dressing up Glad you liked your Hallowe'en treats.

I went to Marwayne today and Eric and Rylan were dressed as scary zombies and Kason was an adorable Zebra.

Gotta go, trick and treaters are at the door!
Love Grams xoxoxoxoxoxo








Reply



Leave a Reply.