Picture
I used to think that people accomplished a lot of big jobs on the "To Do" List when getting ready for a wedding or, like this spring, an anniversary party.  But let me tell you, they ain't got nothin' on us!  If you really want to get jobs done around your house and farm, try moving to Australia!
Since early Fall, Howard or I have sanded and painted the garage and window/door frames on the house.  We have cleaned out sheds, the barn, the garage and the yard.  We have hauled loads to the dump and recruited help hauling loads to the Interval Home in Lloydminster!  (Now that I write this, most of that has been Howard....what have I been doing?!?!)
Now that the weather has turned colder, our efforts have mainly been focused indoors.  Ten days ago,  Howard started "the dreaded job"!  Our one and only bathroom has been in a disgusting state of disrepair since around 2003!  Howard demolished the bathroom and found it was rotten right to the studs behind the shower.  Funny how renos have a way of snowballing....  Anyway, he repaired the damage, rebuilt the wall, covered the window in the shower, hired plumbers to put in the tub and get the water back on quickly (Did I mention we only have 1 bathroom?), drywalled, installed a bathroom fan, taped, mudded and sanded.  And that is were we are today...mudding and sanding and mudding and sanding.  I am sooooo lucky to have a handy man!  (I also forgot to mention that while I was holding the sheet of drywall on the ceiling at 11:30 pm last Friday night, I stepped on the toilet tank and broke it!  We only had two screws into the drywall so just had to stay up on the ladders while the tank emptied all over the floor and flooded the basement....Did I mention we only have 1 bathroom?  No problem, the toilet still works....it's just a MANUAL flush!) 
We are both looking forward to getting the sanding done so I can paint and Howard can install the flooring, vanity, sink and a flushing toilet!  It's funny how jobs just keep getting put off until a huge deadline is looming.  I just hope we can make it, otherwise, I'll be leaving instructions on how to work our manual toilet!


Leanne Pipke
12/3/2011 12:08:59 am

I love your BLOB and your life!!!! It is never boring in your home and you live life to the fullest. I know about the wedding thing but mine was mostly outdoors. Still waiting for the indoor reno's to start. Can Howard fit me in somewhere? Enjoy the new flushable toilet!!!! The Pipke's

Reply
Shannon
12/3/2011 08:12:31 am

Oh my... I can just picture it all!! can't wait to see a pic of the new bathroom...you will have such a good christmas all will be done and your exciting adventure will begin!!

Reply
Janice
12/3/2011 10:21:16 am

Leanne, you love my BLOB?? :)

Reply
Layne
12/11/2011 07:07:59 am

This made me laugh, and I can soooo relate. I'm so glad your man is handy - though fitting into his schedule is probably not the easiest. Looking forward to updates on the finished reno!

Reply
Jayden
12/19/2011 11:15:07 am

HI Cody and Kent

You should get this accont on roblox witch is an online game website witch i have you can mesage each other so we could talk to each other if you can get an account and send me a freind request my name is sugargranny1 if your making an account it will ask for your birthday i put 1987 in january dont put real birthday hope you can get an account

From Jayden :-)

Reply
Tracy
12/20/2011 01:00:11 am

Love the BLOG and am grateful to be able to stay in touch while you are away. Since you still have a few days in Canada, could Howard come over and do a little work on my bathroom??? Heehee

Reply
The Dutchaks
12/26/2011 04:05:12 am

Hey Jacksons! we have a new laptop which has a webcam so now we can skype each other when you're in Australia!!!!! :)

Reply
Terry and Shauna
1/2/2012 01:05:00 am

Hi you all, hope your travels are going great and having fun down under so far - lots more fun to come - like a whole year of it! Christmas was great with the new grandbaby and all,still no snow though! Terry misses that! Well happy New Year you guys.

Reply



Leave a Reply.