Picture
Our 420 Year 1-6 students. The 80 Kindergarteners were not at assembly. Colt is out of the picture on the far right. Kent is behind the last girl on the floor on the left. Cody is the boy talking to a friend in the first row of chairs at the back of the hall.
Life has taken another turn as the carefree days of summer are behind us.  This week saw 5 of the Jackson 6 heading back to school and, let me tell you, it is just as difficult in January as it is in August!  It's hard to get into bed when it is still light outside and it's even harder to get up early in the morning like the Aussies like to do!  I'll tell you a little about each of our school experiences thus far....

Cody - Cody was the guy that really didn't want to come to Australia.  He wanted to surf and then head home to Canada to finish up the hockey season!  I'm very pleased to tell you that Cody is now the most excited member of the "Aussie Jackson 6"!    He watches cricket non-stop and plays it at school too.  He hit the ball over the fence on the first day of school and hit a parked car!  (Kent said, "It was a Ferrari....no mom it was a Volkswagon.....it was red!" - Still his goofy self!)  Cody has met all the boys that he was e-mailing with and they have become quick friends.  He has other new friends too and has mentioned there is even a pretty girl in his class.  :)  One of the girls put a jar of Vegemite on his desk with a note - Welcome to Australia!  Very cute....It'll probably still be here for you Mary!  Cody has 33 students in his class and his teacher is Mr. Cook.  He and his wife are our school mentors.  Cody says Mr. Cook is very funny and strict and Cody is loving both.  (So are his parents!)  Cody has been doing his reading, daily homework and weekly memorizations without being reminded.  (I know it's only day 4 but I'm impressed!)  As you can see from the school pictures, on the 2nd day of school, Cody was voted a captain of one of the house teams.  He is super excited about that.  The school swim carnival (competition) will be held on February 14 and, as a captain, Cody has entered 7 of the 8 events so that he can earn 26 points for his team.  I told him he better start taking his iron pills now!!

Kent - Oh my bubby....always the clown.  Kent has 30 students in his Year 5 class and his teacher is Miss Carter.  She reminds me of someone I used to teach right next door to but Kent hasn't figured that out yet!!  :)  Anyway, Miss Carter is also very strict (yah!!) but likes to have fun too.  I talked to her about Bubby.....she can't say I didn't warn her!  Kent has been very close with his e-mail friend, Dean, as well as a few other boys.  When I walk across the playground at recess or lunch, his friends will point me out to him and Kent will pretend he doesn't see me....then will give a sly grin and a little wave....HONESTLY!!  Kent has also been playing cricket every day and also hit it over the fence the 1st day of school.  Kent is also signed up for several events at the swim carnival.  I hope they can swim as well as they think they can!  

Colt - Colt is so quiet and gentle.  He is in Mrs. Graham's class with about 25 students.  I think the curriculum is quite advanced in some areas compared to ours so I hope he does well.  Mrs. Graham and I will be keeping an eye on him.  She's been extra kind to him so far too (loaning personal books, giving draw entry forms, etc.)  Today was the first day that I saw Colt really playing with other kids besides Khye.  Mrs. Graham is trying to introduce him to and get him playing with the kids in his class.  Today there were 6 boys and girls together.  One of the girls wondered why I don't give Colt money for an ice bar like the other moms....oops!  Colt is happy but doesn't say too much about school yet.

Khye - Khye is very confident for a 4 year old!  He is in Mrs. Mulholland's class with about 20 students.  Their room is right across from mine and close to Colt's.  Khye has been playing with Colt and with other kids in his class.  He talks about a boy named Rylan in his class and a boy with "different skin".  Khye likes his school and the playground.  Today, all of the big kids were called away at lunch by Mr. Cook so Khye and 2 other little boys took over the cricket pitch.  They were very cute!  Khye's biggest problem is that he is tired.  He comes to school full days, 5 days a week!

Mom - Last Friday was spent meeting the teachers and staff at GEPS.  We had 2 meetings and then I spent a bit of time finishing paperwork for the boys school applications.  I worked until 7pm to clean and decorate my room.  Saturday and Sunday were also spent at home, at play and at school.  It's always interesting trying to juggle family and work and it's no different in Australia!  The problem so far is....everything here takes me so much longer!!  I could tell you where almost every item in all of Clandonald School is located but couldn't find a hole punch here.  Little things like different sized paper, 2 ring binders, none of my personal teacher resources and not being able to understand my own timetable were setting me off!   I have a binder of great Math and COGS plans left for me but couldn't understand them or find the resources to teach them.   Between Sunday afternoon and Tuesday night, my culture shock was sky rocketing!  By Tuesday afternoon, I had had too much and had a little melt down during my Year 1 meeting. (Sorry girls...you are all so sweet!)  They didn't make me cry.....it's just that my frustration had reached the saturation point and I couldn't hold it any longer.  My Clandonald friends know I'm an emotional girl anyway!  Heck...I had to leave town without even saying goodbye to Anita....too emotional!  Well, now I'm happy to report that everyone is trying to look after me (and I mean almost everyone from teachers to staff to my sister!) You will be glad to hear that the rest of my week has been very good.  I am settling into a routine and am feeling more confident.  Next week will bring more changes but it should settle down after that.  I am getting more sleep and am feeling better.  My class is very loud (a product of their environment I'm sure!) and I will work on that.  So, don't worry all, after my meltdown, I really am right now!  The staff at GEPS have been amazing and very friendly and I am enjoying getting to know them this year.  I think that the Year 1 teachers will become good friends of mine this year and I really appreciate them so much already!  

So that's it for tonight.  Mary is so right when she says it takes most of her day to update the blog.  I've been at it for 2.5 hours already tonight.  Check back soon because all 4 boys are going to start playing cricket on Saturday....we're just trying to round up their uniforms right now!  Also, Howard will start work on Monday and that will be another great entry!  Thanks for the comments, everyone.  We love to hear from you!  
Butz Family
2/2/2012 12:59:37 am

Hey Jackson Family! Have thoroughly enjoyed reading about your adventure and new experiences so far. Enjoy every moment - such wonderful memories!! Take care - thinking of you from all the Butz's :)

Reply
Geralyn
2/2/2012 07:25:24 am

What a handsome bunch on their first day of school! Those uniforms look really sharp! It will be such an exciting year for all of you.

Reply
louise
2/2/2012 09:11:48 am

Hi,jackson's
It looks like fun! Wish I was there.
louise

Reply
Marg H
2/2/2012 10:11:07 am

You boys look great in your new uniforms - enjoy your year of school in Australia - it will be something you will never ever forget!

Reply
Mary H
2/3/2012 01:57:56 am

Hi Jackson6 !
I am so happy that you guys are settling in & making yourselves at home! x The horses must be loving all the attention, especially Freckles...she is such a woman & seems to prefer boys!?!
You all look so beautiful/handsome in your uniforms, ready for the first day of school x Congratulations Cody! VERY impressive to be voted house captain. For a big school, it has a beautiful heart & I am sure that you guys will fit right in. I must admit to feeling a little homesick when looking at the photos of the house & school xxx Enjoy! Enjoy! x:)

Reply
Janna
2/4/2012 06:44:50 am

Oh my goodness - what incredible adventures you are having. I seriously check your blog everyday. I can't get enough! I'm so proud of you I can't even put it into words. Courage comes to mind! You may have to publish this as a book when you're finished this adventure. AMAZING job girl! Love the photos too!
Enjoy every minute!
Janni

Reply
Charlie Lovell
2/5/2012 03:01:41 am

Enjoy seeing everyone is having a great time and things are going well.

Reply
The Dutchaks
2/5/2012 11:33:12 am

We hope that you are looking forward to your next week of school now that you've got the initial bugs out. You will all be better people for going through ups and downs together. We loved getting a glimpse of your school and I'm sure that everyone is very happy to have "the Jacksons in the building"! Good luck starting work Howard I'm sure we'll be hearing of your adventures next! Take care everyone!

Reply
Geralyn
2/5/2012 12:30:42 pm

I brought Griffin in to see your classroom pictures on Friday. He was thrilled to see the banner! He said they had access to your blog at home, so I'm sure he would report back to his mom and continue the viewing pleasure!

Reply
Janice
2/6/2012 07:10:20 pm

Thanks Geralyn!

Reply
Pipke Family
2/7/2012 03:16:00 am

Looks like you're having a great time. You need Carl to come down and play with the boys? Very envious of your adventure, enjoy every minute!

Reply
Grade 1 and 2 Clandonald School
2/7/2012 06:18:31 am

Hi Mrs. J!

We miss you! We just saw all your pictures doing our computer class. We think your pictures are cool and funny and awesome! We miss you a lot. We do enjoy Mr. Conlan. We like it when he plays the guitar and sings. Our dance is called Moby Dick.

Tell Colt that we really miss him (especially the girls!) The boys say to tell your boys that all the pictures of them are awesome. MacKenzie's teeth are growing very quickly, and Ryder and Griffin report that they each have a very loose tooth.

You will be proud that we are working hard on our reading. Griffin is on level 23. We think we are doing more reading than any of the other classes.

Are you having a good time in Australia? We hope so!

Reply
Mrs. J
2/7/2012 07:23:59 pm

Ohhh... you guys are so cute! I wish I could give you all big hugs! Thank you for writing to me. I miss you too.

I am enjoying Australia. It was very fun to camp and play in the ocean for the first 3 weeks of our trip. We are now at Mr. Conlan's farm. We like to be here because Colt gets to love the horses and we all love to meet Mr. Conlan's family and friends. We are going to Mr. Conlan's lake this weekend and you all know how much I love the lake! It should be fun.

I am very proud of you for all doing your reading. Did you all reach a level so that you could enter the Oilers draw again? Did you win tickets to a game yet? Mr. Conlan would like that!

Ryder and Griffin (or Miss McCormack)...If you lose a tooth, remember that I have the little tooth necklaces in the closet in the classroom.

Colt sent you mail yesterday so look for that in a week or two. Miss you all..... Love Mrs. J

Reply
Geralyn
2/8/2012 01:17:14 am

If Miss McCormack loses another tooth, she's going to need a lot more that a little plastic tooth! It might be the white truck with the rubber walls....plus a fairly substantial lottery prize!

Shannon
2/7/2012 10:49:49 am

Way to go girl!!! Can't wait to read more adventures.

Reply
The Harrower Family
2/8/2012 10:46:21 am

Hello Jackson 6!

Mrs. J I miss you a whole lot! Your classroom at GEPS sure looks different from ours in Clandonald. Thanks for hanging up the Canada banner and putting it in your blog! (J, he was so thrilled to be mentioned! S). I am really missing Colt. I think it would be kindo
of fun to wear a uniform to school. Cricket looks very interesting. Those big leg pads you wear look kind of like goalie pads. Cool! Mr. Conlon is very cool and funny and awesome and nice! Have fun everybody!

Your friend,
Griffin

Hello Jackdon 6!

I wanted to say "G'day" but Griff said that was so not cool! Glad you are all settled and having such a great time (was there ever any doubt!). Your pictures and blog are awesome, we all look forward to checking in on your adventures! Remember...this is the life and you are all living it down under!

The Harrowers

Reply
Jaiden Wood
2/9/2012 08:27:58 am

hey jackson family,

Its looks like u guys are having lots of fun!! Everybody misses you guys but we still enjoy Josie and Matilda!

Reply
Reagan
2/10/2012 09:09:59 am

Hey Jacksons,
miss you!! wish you were here! :( happy valentines!! looks like your having fun!

Reply



Leave a Reply.